How it starts…

Before any of the work begins to attain Cittaslow designation, a number of criteria are considered.

Cittaslow towns contain fewer than 50,000 people, and must meet specific requirements in these areas:

  • Environmental protection and sustainability
  • Local products
  • Hospitality
  • Infrastructure, road safety, bicycle paths
  • Historic buildings
  • New technology
  • Cultural and historical values and diversity
  • Unique town identity

Details of membership are at http://www.cittaslow.org

Sonoma Valley is the first area in the United States to be designated Cittaslow. It serves Sonoma Valley, and also acts as a model for other towns interested in becoming Cittaslow.

Welcome to Cittaslow USA